Microsoft has confirmed a confusing Windows bug that causes different filenames to appear in the confirmation dialog when deleting a file from the Recycle Bin.
"When permanently deleting a single item from the Recycle Bin, the confirmation dialog displays the internal Recycle Bin filename (for example, $Rxxxxx.ext) instead of the original filename," the company explained in a Thursday update to the Windows release health dashboard.
"The Recycle Bin itself correctly displays the original filename, and restoring the item also restores it using the original filename."
While Microsoft didn't share how widespread this known issue is, it said that it affects all supported Windows releases across both client and server platforms after installing the June 2026 security updates.
The complete list of affected Windows versions includes:










